The first step in the admission process is to be sworn in to the Superior Court. You may contact the clerk of the Superior Court for any county in the state to make an appointment.
One word of caution: your first year of dues to the State Bar of Georgia depends on your swearing-in date, and you have some discretion in choosing that date, and as a result, the amount of dues you pay. Of course, if you have a job or have other employment objectives which require you to give legal advice, you will need to be sworn in and enroll in the State Bar of Georgia before engaging in the practice of law and that will trump any other timing decisions on when to be sworn in.
NOTE: If you are sworn in after July 1, you will owe a monthly prorated amount based on the month you were sworn in for the 2014-2015 Bar year. Please see dues notice and associated proration chart for amount due.
Regardless of when you choose to be sworn in, you must enroll with the State Bar of Georgia within 60 days of your swearing-in date to avoid paying a late registration penalty. ($100)
If you reside out of state and wish to be sworn in by proxy, contact Nicholas Cotten with the Fulton County Superior Court Clerks office at email@example.com for additional information.
After being sworn in, the enrollment forms listed below need to be completed and mailed with your payment to:
State Bar of Georgia
104 Marietta St. NW, Suite 100
Atlanta, GA 30303-2743
If you are not currently employed and/or do not plan to practice in Georgia at this time, you may enroll as an inactive member but you cannot practice law or provide any legal advice as an inactive member.
Once enrolled as an active member, you are authorized to practice in Superior and all lower courts in the state. You may choose to be sworn in separately to the Court of Appeals of Georgia, Supreme Court of Georgia and federal district courts by contacting these courts. The Young Lawyers Division of the State Bar sponsors mass swearing-in ceremonies twice a year for the higher courts and will send out information to new members after you have enrolled.
Items Necessary for Enrollment
The Attorney Oath and Order: This document must have an official raised or colored seal. (This is obtained from the clerk of the Superior Court when you are sworn in. Copies will not be accepted). In some counties, the Clerk will provide the oath electronically to the Bar. The Clerk will inform you if you are in a participating county.