State Bar of Georgia
State Bar of Georgia

Cobb Attorneys Elected to Board of Governors of State Bar of Georgia 

July 3, 2019
Contact: Sarah I. Coole or

Orlando, Florida – Attorney Ronald Arthur Lowry, Cobb County District Attorney Emeritus Patrick H. Head and Cobb County Associate County Attorney Laura J. Murphree, all of Marietta, were re-elected to serve on the Board of Governors of the 50,000-member State Bar of Georgia. All were installed June 8 during the organization’s Annual Meeting.

Lowry will continue to serve in the Cobb Judicial Circuit, Post 2 seat on the board, representing Cobb County. He earned his law degree from the Mercer University Walter F. George School of Law and was admitted to the State Bar of Georgia in 1975. A solo practitioner, he also serves as a mediator with Henning Mediation & Arbitration Service.

Head will continue to serve in the Post 4 seat from the Cobb Circuit. He is a graduate of Woodrow Wilson Law School and joined the State Bar in 1978. He is District Attorney Emeritus of the Cobb Judicial Circuit, having retired Jan. 1, 2013.

Murphree will continue to serve in the Post 6 seat from the Cobb Circuit. She graduated from the Georgia State University College of Law and became a State Bar member in 1994. She is a senior associate county attorney in the litigation group of the Cobb County Attorney’s Office.

The Board of Governors is the 160-member policymaking authority of the State Bar, with representation from each of Georgia’s judicial circuits. The board holds regular meetings at least four times per year.