State Bar of Georgia
State Bar of Georgia

Clayton County Attorneys Elected to Board of Governors of State Bar of Georgia 

June 14, 2019
Contact: Sarah I. Coole or

Orlando, Florida – John T. O’Neal of Fincher Denmark LLC was elected, and Martin L. Cowen III, also of Jonesboro, was re-elected to serve on the Board of Governors of the 50,000-member State Bar of Georgia. Both were installed June 8 during the organization’s Annual Meeting.

O’Neal will serve in the Clayton Judicial Circuit, Post 1 seat on the board, representing Clayton County. He graduated from Florida Coastal School of Law and was admitted to the State Bar of Georgia in 2009. His law practice is focused on litigation and local government law and projects. He was previously an assistant state attorney in Florida, an assistant district attorney in the Augusta Judicial Circuit, as well as a plaintiff’s and insurance defense litigator in the Atlanta area. O’Neal previously served on the Board of Directors of the Young Lawyers Division of the State Bar of Georgia and is a graduate of the 2014 YLD Leadership Academy.

Cowen will continue to serve in the Post 3 seat from the Clayton Circuit. He is a University of Georgia School of Law graduate and joined the State Bar in 1975. A solo practitioner in criminal defense and elder law, Cowen is a past vice president of the Georgia Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers and a past president of the Clayton County Bar Association.

The Board of Governors is the 160-member policymaking authority of the State Bar, with representation from each of Georgia’s judicial circuits. The board holds regular meetings at least four times per year.