State Bar of Georgia
State Bar of Georgia

Congratulations to new and reappointed members of JNC

November 18, 2021
By Elizabeth L. Fite

Daily Report

To the Editor:

On behalf of the State Bar of Georgia, I would like to express congratulations to the attorneys and judges who were recently appointed or reappointed by Gov. Brian Kemp to serve on the Judicial Nominating Commission. 

They include Co-Chairs Mark Middleton, of counsel at Gilbert, Harrell, Sumerford & Martin P.C., and Vincent Russo of The Robbins Firm, both of Atlanta, and Blue Ridge Judicial Circuit District Attorney Shannon Wallace of Canton; and members Justice Michael P. Boggs of the Supreme Court of Georgia, Derek W. Bottoms of The Home Depot, Tye G. Darland of Georgia-Pacific LLC, Robert S. Highsmith Jr. of Holland & Knight LLP, Justice Shawn E. LaGrua of the Supreme Court of Georgia, M. Anne Kaufold-Wiggins of Balch & Bingham LLP, James B. Manley Jr. of Troutman Pepper Hamilton Sanders LLP, W. Ryan Teague of Robbins Ross Alloy Belinfante Littlefield LLC, Richard J. Valladares of Greenberg Traurig LLP and Kathleen H. Wilkinson of OakBridge Law Group, all of Atlanta; Lance A. Cooper of The Cooper Firm, Soo J. Hong of Blevins & Hong, P.C., and Darrell L. Sutton of Sutton Law Group LLC, all of Marietta; T. Mills Fleming of HunterMaclean, Quentin L. Marlin of Ellis Painter Ratterree & Adams LLP and Margaret E. Heap, all of Savannah; M. Anh Le and DeKalb County Superior Court Judge Shondeana C. Morris, both of Decatur; Columbia Judicial Circuit Juvenile Court Judge Charles E. Evans and Natalie S. Paine, both of Evans; Patrick S. Flynn of Flynn Peeler & Phillips LLC of Albany; Andrew J. Hill III of Blasingame Burch Garrard Ashley, P.C., of Athens; Kristina G. Connell of Connell Law Firm of Augusta; Chattahoochee Judicial Circuit Superior Court Judge Benjamin A. Land of Columbus; Frank B. Turner Jr. of Greer Stansfield & Turner LLP of Covington; W.D. “Trey” Taylor III of Taylor Law LLC of Dublin; Sheetal R. Desai of The Trusted Lawyers a Desai Law Group, P.C., of Duluth; Fayette County Solicitor General Jamie K. Inagawa of Fayetteville; Flint Judicial Circuit Superior Court Judge Holly W. Veal of McDonough; Perry City Attorney Brooke P. Newby of Perry; Haynes M. Studstill of Studstill Firm LLP of Valdosta; and Josh E. Waters of Robins Air Force Base of Warner Robins. 

All Georgians will benefit from their service on the commission, which is responsible for receiving applications, interviewing candidates and making recommendations to the governor for appointments to judicial vacancies across the state.

With their acceptance of this important task, these distinguished members of the State Bar of Georgia demonstrate their continued commitment to serving the public and the justice system. We wish them well in this position of statewide leadership.

Elizabeth L. Fite
President, State Bar of Georgia