State Bar of Georgia
State Bar of Georgia

Congratulations to newly appointed Federal Nominations Advisory Commission

April 1, 2021
By Dawn M. Jones

Daily Report

To the Editor:

On behalf of the State Bar of Georgia, I am writing to extend congratulations to members of the newly appointed Federal Nominations Advisory Commission, which will advise Georgia’s U.S. senators on recommendations of candidates to fill vacant U.S. District Court judge, U.S. attorney and U.S. marshal positions. 

Selected by Sens. Raphael Warnock and Jon Ossoff, the diverse group of Georgia lawyers, judges, civil rights leaders and criminal justice reform advocates includes retired Supreme Court of Georgia Chief Justice Leah Ward Sears of Smith, Gambrell & Russell LLP in Atlanta, who will chair the commission; Jason Carter of Bondurant, Mixson & Elmore LLP in Atlanta; Mercer University School of Law Dean Cathy Cox of Macon; Mawuli M. Malcolm Davis of the Davis Bozeman Law Firm, P.C., in Decatur; Allegra Lawrence Hardy of Lawrence & Bundy LLC in Atlanta; Jeffrey D. Horst of Krevolin & Horst LLC in Atlanta; Francys Johnson Jr. of Davis Bozeman Johnson Law in Statesboro; Suzanne W. Ockleberry of AT&T in Atlanta; retired Court of Appeals of Georgia Chief Judge Herbert E. Phipps of Albany; Shyam K. Reddy, general counsel of BlueLinx Corp. in Marietta; Pamela Peynado of Lee & Peynado Immigration Law Group in Alpharetta; Dwight L. Thomas of D Lowell Thomas, P.C., in Atlanta; Sara Totonchi, executive director of the Southern Center for Human Rights; Michael J. Warshauer of the Warshauer Law Group, P.C., in Atlanta; Georgia NAACP State President James Woodall; and Andrea I. Young, executive director of the American Civil Liberties Union of Georgia.

All Georgians will benefit from the commission’s work, which will provide Sens. Ossoff and Warnock with valuable insight and counsel on potential nominees for federal court vacancies in our state before the senators make their final recommendations to President Joseph R. Biden.

By accepting these appointments, the distinguished commission members demonstrate their continued commitment to serving the public and the justice system. We wish them well in this new capacity of leadership. 

Dawn M. Jones
President, State Bar of Georgia