You must be logged in to check your CLE Status. Click here to login.
Continuing Legal Education Regulation
CLE Regulation operates under the Commission on Continuing Lawyer Competency and assists attorneys with keeping track of their CLE hours. It is designed to enhance its members' professional competence as lawyers. Active lawyers are required to keep current on the law by attending a minimum of 12 hours of education each year. Of these, at least one must be in ethics, one must be in professionalism, and for trial attorneys three must be in litigation.
The forms for submission of courses for CLE credit are available as PDF files. Read More
Mandatory Continuing Legal Education FAQs
Answers to frequently asked questions regarding mandatory CLE. Read More
Professionalism CLE Guidelines
The general goal of the Professionalism CLE requirement is to create a forum in which lawyers, judges and legal educators can explore the meaning and aspirations of professionalism in contemporary legal practice and reflect upon the fundamental premises of lawyer professionalism–competence, civility, integrity and commitment to the rule of law, to justice and to the public good. Read More
Continuing Legal Education Rules
Part VIII of the State Bar of Georgia Handbook: Continuing Lawyer Competency. Read More
CLE providers are required to pay $5 per hour per attendee and $15 per professionalism hour for courses held in Georgia. For seminars held outside of Georgia if the CLE provider elects not to pay the $5 per hour fee and the $15 per professionalism fee, then the attorney receiving credit for the hours will be required to pay the fee.
Important Deadlines and Late Fees
December 31, 2017: 2017 CLE requirement should be complete.
March 31, 2018: Three month extension is provided to complete 2017 CLE requirement with no penalty. $100 late fee will be due if 2017 CLE requirement is not complete by March 31, 2018.