State Bar of Georgia
State Bar of Georgia
State Bar of Georgia Interior Page Banner

Appointed Work for Attorneys

Circuit public defenders are appointed by their individual circuit's Public Defender Supervisory Panel. The membership and the role of these panels are specified in O.C.G.A. § 17-12-20. Six circuits have applied for and been approved to opt out of the state system:

  1. Bell-Forsyth (Forsyth County)
  2. Blue Ridge (Cherokee County)
  3. Cobb (Cobb County)
  4. Douglas (Douglas County)
  5. Gwinnett (Gwinnett County)
  6. Houston (Houston County)

Conflict attorney forms and a detailed, interactive map of counties and circuits with contact information can be viewed on the Georgia Public Defender Standards Council website at

Click here for a list of Circuit Public Defenders Offices.