How did SOLACE originate?
SOLACE started in Louisiana. It was conceived by United States District Court Judge Jay Zainey of New Orleans as a way for the bar to reach out in a meaningful way when a member of the legal community suffered a loss or developed a need as the result of a sudden catastrophic event.
Will I be asked for money?
SOLACE will not solicit cash contributions. The point of SOLACE is to tap into the legal community’s network of contacts. Often what is needed is in-kind donations or non-monetary assistance such as transportation, housing, or a medical referral. Any monetary donations that SOLACE receives will be returned to the donor.
A woman came to my office for help with her divorce case, but there is another lawyer representing her now. May I speak with her?
Yes, unless you currently represent someone whose interests are adverse to hers. Rule 4.2 does not prohibit a disinterested lawyer from providing a second opinion to someone who is currently represented by counsel.
Are Journey Through Justice souvenirs available?
Yes. Every student receives a free personalized Honorary Attorney for the Day certificate. In addition, students and teachers may purchase a Journey Through Justice patch. Patches are $1.00 each (tax is included). We do not have change available. We ask that you collect patch money from students in advance of the tour and deliver it to a Law-Related Education staff member during the lunch break.
Can CLE hours be carried forward?
Yes. Regular CLE hours - 12 hours can be carried to the next year In-House CLE hours - 6 hours can be carried to the next year Ethics hours - 2 hours can be carried to the next year Professionalism hours - 2 hours can be carried to the next year Trial hours - 3 hours can be carried to the next year
Can any CLE hours be taken by online or other distance learning format?
Yes, 6 hours per year can be taken in a distance-learning format. These type of hours are called in-house hours and they are tracked on attorneys' CLE transcripts maintained by the State Bar of Georgia CLE department staff. An attorney can take 6 in-house hours per year and can carry forward 6 CLE hours to the next succeeding year.
Can homeschool groups attend Journey Through Justice?
Yes. Homeschool groups may attend Journey Through Justice on Mondays and Tuesdays. If your group wants to come on another day of the week, we will try to accommodate you, but we may not be able to provide free parking in our parking deck. Our program is designed for students in grades 4-12; no child younger than 4th grade will be allowed in the classroom or courtroom. Parents with younger children should make alternate arrangements for those children or arrange, in advance of your arrival at the Bar, for another group parent to take responsibility for the older child(ren). In the latter case, you must complete the form HERE before leaving the Bar.
Do I have to stay with my homeschooled child(ren) during Journey Through Justice?
Yes, unless you have arranged, in advance of your arrival at the Bar, for another parent to take full responsibility for your child(ren) and have completed and returned your group leader form HERE.
Does the client have to arbitrate?
No. If the client does not want the dispute resolved in this manner, no arbitration is held.
Does the lawyer have to arbitrate?
No. But if the lawyer elects not to arbitrate, the process may continue without his participation as a party at the hearing. If the client prevails in such a hearing, the award becomes prima facie evidence in any future litigation over the fee, and the client may be furnished with free counsel if such litigation is needed.
How am I notified if my hours are deficient?
In January or early February of each year, an Annual Report of CLE hours for the previous calendar year is sent to all active members of the State Bar of Georgia unless an exemption has already been entered. If the attorney has completed all the required CLE hours for the previous year and does not owe any course fees, then the attorney does not need to do anything further. However, if the attorney either needs more hours for the previous year or owes a course fee that is listed on the Annual Report, then he or she has until March 31 to satisfy the deficiency.
How are CLE exemptions taken by attorneys?
Age 70 exemptions are automatic
Inactive exemptions are automatic for members electing that membership status for a full calendar year.
All other exemptions must be marked on the Status Report mailed in October of each year or the Annual Report mailed in January of each year.
Also, you can login by clicking here to view your current CLE Status.
How are legal fees determined?
Abraham Lincoln once emphasized the value of a lawyer's time when he said, "A lawyer's advice is his stock in trade." The value of the professional services of the lawyer are not easily measured since legal matters differ widely and no two factual situations are exactly alike. Therefore, in most instances, the fee will depend upon the factors involved in the specific case at hand and cannot be determined by any pre-established general fee schedule. The elements most often considered include:
1. the time and labor required, the novelty and difficulty of the question involved, and the skill needed to perform the legal service properly;
2. the likelihood that the acceptance of the particular employment will preclude other employment by the lawyer;
3. the fee customarily charged in the locality for similar legal services;
4. the amount involved and the results obtained;
5. the time limitations requested by the client or by the circumstances;
6. the nature and length of the professional relationship with the client;
7. the experience, reputation, and ability of the lawyer or lawyers, performing the services;
8. whether the fee is fixed or contingent.
How are the awards collected?
In most cases, the losing party tenders payment within 90 days. If this does not occur, the award may be filed with the Superior Court of the county of the losing party and it becomes the equivalent of a judgment of that court. It may be enforced by the parties just as any other Superior Court judgment. The State Bar may be able to assist in the collection process, but its participation in the arbitration process normally ends with the filing of the award.
How can I best comply with my MCLE requirements?
Take all the required hours before the December 31 deadline.
If your hours are incomplete on December 31, make them up during the grace period, which expires on March 31. This saves the $100 late CLE fee.
If you miss the March 31 deadline, pay the $100 late fee which extends the deadline to June 30. After June 30 an additional $150 in fees are due for a total of $250 for late completion of your CLE requirement.
Monitor your record during the year by logging into your account by clicking here. Some sponsors take several weeks to report your attendance, so check back if a seminar is not listed in your record. If it does not appear, contact the CLE department staff at (404) 527-8710.
How can I get more information about Fee Arbitration?
Contact a member of the Fee Arbitration Department, or call the State Bar of Georgia at (404) 527-8750 or 1-800-334-6865 and ask for the Fee Arbitration Department.
How can I view my CLE record?
You can check you CLE by logging into your account by clicking here.
How do I book a Journey Through Justice?
Journey Through Justice tours are booked on a first-come, first-served basis, and we begin accepting reservations five years in advance. Determine which dates are available by clicking the calendar HERE and confirm that your preferred date does not conflict with your school calendar (e.g., holidays, early release dates, testing). You may book a tour by emailing your preferred dates to LRE@gabar.org.
How do I opt out of SOLACE emails?
If you do not wish to receive SOLACE emails, reply to any SOLACE email you receive and request to be removed from the mailing or follow the "unsubscribe" link at the bottom of any SOLACE email.
How do I request Fee Arbitration?
You complete a form known as a petition. This may be obtained by writing or calling the State Bar of Georgia.
How do students prepare for the mock trial?
We use the lunch break to prepare students with speaking roles for the mock trial. We cannot supply the scripts in advance. The students use the scripts throughout the trial; no memorizing is necessary.
How does JDPP relate to the Office of General Counsel or the Judicial Qualifications Commission?
The Program operates independently from the disciplinary systems presently in place with the Office of General Counsel and the Judicial Qualifications Commission. The JDPP is informal, private and voluntary rather than formal and mandatory, and it does not address violations of the Rules of Professional Conduct or violations of the Code of Judicial Conduct.
How is JDPP authorized?
The Program was submitted to and approved by the Executive Committee and Board of Governors of the State Bar of Georgia and ultimately by the Georgia Supreme Court by Order dated February 24, 2000. The Supreme Court adopted Rules governing the operation of the Program which are found at Part XIII of the Rules and Regulations for the Organization and Regulation of the State Bar of Georgia ("Bar Rules"). At the same time, the Supreme Court approved Internal Operating Procedures for the administration of the Program and granted the Bench and Bar Committee of the State Bar authority to adopt additional Operating Procedures not inconsistent with the Rules.
How is SOLACE funded and administered?
SOLACE is a program of the State Bar of Georgia. Ken Shigley, past president of the State Bar of Georgia, is chair of the SOLACE Committee and coordinates requests and responses. Additional coordinators may be added in the future. Voluntary donations for operational expenses of SOLACE shall be held in a separate SOLACE fund by the State Bar of Georgia.
How is a mock trial selected for my tour?
We generally select a mock trial for your students to perform based on the law lesson topic you select. Once you select a lesson, you will receive an email with a brief description of your trial and a list of speaking roles. We ask that you assign your speaking roles before you arrive at the Bar and that you select your best readers, as it makes the trial go more smoothly. Students not assigned roles will serve as jurors.
How long does arbitration take?
Many cases settle before an arbitration hearing takes place. Some do so within a few weeks, while others take much longer. If the arbitration process goes to conclusion without settlement, a case takes, as an average, eleven months to complete. Of course, some cases take less than this while more difficult ones may take longer.
How long should I keep closed client files?
The ethics rules don't require a lawyer to keep closed files for any particular length of time. The exception is trust account records. Rule 1.15(I) does require that a lawyer keep trust account records for at least six years after the case is over. There is a four year statute of limitations for disciplinary investigations; Rule 4-222 provides that the statute may be tolled up to two years in certain situations. You should also take into account potential malpractice claims and other law when making a decision to destroy a file.
How many SOLACE emails will I receive?
Each SOLACE request generates only one email. You can expect to receive one or two emails per month. If you are able to assist, the email will contain information regarding how to contact the person in need or that person’s representative. If you are not able to assist, there will be no further contacts regarding the request.
How many times can my school attend Journey Through Justice during a single school year?
There is no limit on the number of days a particular school may attend Journey Through Justice during the school year. For instance, if you want to bring more than our maximum of 70 students, you can schedule multiple dates in order to accommodate your entire group.
How may I submit a request for SOLACE assistance?
To submit a request for SOLACE assistance for yourself or another member of the legal community, start with an email to SOLACE@gabar.org, briefly identifying and describing the crisis and needs.
How much does a Journey Through Justice cost?
How much will I pay for Fee Arbitration?
Nothing. This is a free public service of the State Bar. However, in the event appeals, subsequent litigation, or collection actions are required after an arbitration is concluded and an award is received, the parties bear their own expense for such additional litigation.
I am having technical problems with this site, or the above questions do not apply to my problem.
For technical questions about the site, please contact the Webmaster by email at email@example.com. Please keep in mind that the Webmaster is a technology professional, not a legal professional, and cannot answer any legal questions.
I can't find...
The State Bar of Georgia's website is equipped with two tools to help you navigate our site -- the Site Map and the Search function at the top of the page. The Site Map is a detailed listing of all major areas of the State Bar of Georgia's website. The Search function allows you to search the entire site for specific information. Both tools are available at the top of every page.
If you cannot find what you are looking for on the State Bar of Georgia's website, you might wish to search the World Wide Web. You can do so by going to Search Engines on our Online Resources page.
I need a copy of my application to the Bar, how do I obtain a copy?
Typically, an attorney when applying for admission to another jurisdiction raises this question. The other jurisdiction normally is interested in a copy of the Bar Admission application, not the data enrollment form for the State Bar of Georgia. A copy of the Bar Admission's application can be obtained by calling 404-656-3490.
I'd like to offer my paralegal a bonus based on the legal fees I've taken in each month. Is that ethical?
Rule 5.4 discusses a lawyer splitting a legal fee with a nonlawyer. Formal Advisory Opinion 05-4 provides that it is ethically proper for a lawyer to compensate nonlawyer employees based upon a plan that is based in whole or in part on a profit-sharing arrangement.
I'm leaving my law firm. May I tell the clients whose files I have worked on that I am opening my own practice?
Formal Advisory Opinion 97-3 holds that a lawyer who is leaving a firm may ethically notify those clients he or she has actively represented. The communication may be oral or written. The lawyer may advise the client of the lawyer's departure, provide a new address, and notify the client of the lawyer's willingness to provide legal services to the client.
I've been fired but the client still owes part of my fee. May I keep her file until she pays?
If keeping the file will be detrimental to the client's interests, you may not hold the file to guarantee payment of your fee. Rule 1.16(d) and Formal Advisory Opinion 87-5 provide further guidance on this issue.
I've graduated from law school, taken the Bar Exam and am working in a law office. Can I call myself a lawyer?
No! Even if you have passed the Bar, you must be sworn in by a court and registered with the State Bar of Georgia before you are licensed to practice law in the state. Until then you may not give legal advice to anyone. You may not appear in court or sign your name on a document to be presented to a court (other than for your own personal matters). If a judge allows you to sit with counsel during a hearing, or if you attend a deposition with a licensed attorney, you may not question witnesses or make objections. You are also obligated to clarify your status to anyone who mistakenly believes that you are a lawyer. Be sure that the firm letterhead, website and other publications do not refer to you as a lawyer before you are fully credentialed. There are many tasks that you may perform in a law office while awaiting Bar results and licensing. You may draft briefs or pleadings for a lawyer's review and signature. You may interview clients and witnesses, and pass along legal advice as directed by a lawyer (making it clear that the advice is from a licensed attorney). Formal Advisory Opinions 19, 21 and 00-2 further describe what tasks may appropriately be delegated to a nonlawyer in a law office.
If I have a need and make a request through SOLACE, will my confidentiality be maintained?
Confidentiality is of paramount concern. If you have a need, a SOLACE coordinator will work with you to write an email that explains the need and maintains your confidentiality. You will need to provide contact information for potential donors, but you are encouraged to use an anonymous email address for this purpose if you are concerned about confidentiality. Depending on the nature of the request, you may also wish to designate a family member to receive the SOLACE responses.
Is the Fee Arbitration award binding?
It is if both parties so agree. In such cases, it cannot be appealed except for very limited reasons. If both parties do not so agree, it will be considered as prima facie evidence in any future litigation. And in certain situations, an award in favor of the client may entitle him or her to the free services of an attorney to represent the client in any necessary subsequent litigation regarding the fee.
Is there a lunch break during the tour?
Yes. Students and teachers should bring a sack lunch; we provide soft drinks. There will not be an opportunity to leave the tour to purchase lunch. Do not order lunch as we cannot accommodate deliveries. Additionally, we do not have a microwave or vending machine.
May I take a new case if it will require me to sue a former client?
Maybe. Rule 1.9 allows a lawyer to represent a new client whose interests are adverse to a former client only if the matters are not substantially related, or if the former client consents. Rule 1.6 regarding confidences and secrets also might have some impact on the lawyer's ability to undertake representation adverse to a former client. The rules require a lawyer to make very specific disclosures before obtaining client consent to this type of representation, so please call the Ethics Helpline to talk about your situation with us.
Should my students be prepared to take notes?
What browsers are supported for viewing your website?
Internet Explorer 8 and 9, Firefox 3.6+, Chrome 13+ and Safari 5+ (the Mac version).
What can clients do to avoid fee disputes in the future?
Always ask your lawyer for a written fee agreement, and make sure you understand exactly what it does and does not cover. This is critical not only because a clear initial agreement tends to prevent subsequent disputes, but also because arbitrators in most cases cannot render any award that is contrary to the terms of an executed written fee contract. If you were renting a house, you would ask if the costs of electricity, water and garbage pick-up were included in the rental price. Ask your lawyer specific questions, too. For instance, will you be charged each time you telephone the lawyer? Does the fee include making reports to you on a regular basis? What does "regular basis" mean to the lawyer? Will the fee go up if the case takes longer than either of you expects? If the lawyer charges by the hour, ask for a monthly bill. That way, you will know how much the case is costing as it moves along, and you will not be in for a big bill, or possibly a big shock, at the end. Some lawyers will take your case on a "contingency" basis when you sue someone for money. This means you will not be charged attorneys fees if you lose the case. If you win, you pay the lawyer a percentage of the money the court awards you. Before you agree to a contingency fee, make sure you know how it will work in your case. What will the lawyer's percentage be? Will it be taken from the amount you win before or after court costs are subtracted? Will the fee be less if the case settles out of court? What if you settle the case before trial, but after the lawyer has done all the work to get ready for trial? Will the fee be more if you lose in the trial court, but appeal the decision to a higher court and win? Most lawyers charge retainers. Get a clear understanding as to whether it is refundable or nonrefundable in the event the case or your attorney/client relationship concludes prior to its expected time.
What cases may be fee arbitrated?
In general, all disputes between clients and their attorneys over fees may be arbitrated. There are a few exceptions as follows. Fees charged by a lawyer who is, or who was when the services were performed, not licensed to practice law in the State of Georgia. Cases involving services performed outside of Georgia or from an office located outside of Georgia. Cases where there was no express or implied lawyer/client relationship between the parties at the time the legal services in question were performed. Cases where the disputed fee is $750 or less. Fees which are governed by law or statute. Cases where the full amount or all terms of which have already been fixed or approved by order of a court. Cases filed longer than two years following the date on which the controversy first arose. Cases where the petition fails to include all of the following information: date; signature of petitioner; the identities of both the client and the lawyer and the address of both; a statement of the nature of the dispute and the particulars of the petitioner's position, including relevant dates; a statement that the petitioner has made a good faith effort to resolve the dispute and the details of that effort; the agreement of the petitioner to be bound by the result of the arbitration. Cases in which the petitioner's claim does not appear to have merit. If your case is determined to be covered by one or more of the foregoing exceptions, you will be notified that jurisdiction is declined. While this means that no arbitration hearing will be conducted, it does not affect litigation or any other remedy that you may wish to consider in lieu of arbitration.
What do Judicial District Professionalism Committees do?
The JDPCs promote traditions of civility and professionalism through increased communication, education, and the informal use of local peer influence to alter unprofessional conduct on a voluntary basis. A JDPC may choose to serve the following functions:
* Mentoring - providing guidance in "best practices" for lawyers and judges
* Mechanism for privately receiving and attempting to resolve inquiries and requests for assistance from lawyers and judges on an informal basis. In this regard, JDPP addresses disputes between lawyers and lawyers and disputes between lawyers and judges.
* Initiator of other creative programs developed and implemented by each committee for the particular Judicial District.
What does JDPP not handle?
* Lawyer/client disputes. Inquiries by clients or other members of the public are handled by the Consumer Assistance Program or other appropriate State Bar programs.
* Fee disputes. These can be handled by the Fee Arbitration Program of the State Bar.
* Employment matters. Example: Allegation that managing attorney sexually harasses associates and support staff.
* Lawyer/vendor disputes. Example: Court reporter alleges that lawyer has not paid bill.
* Disciplinary matters. Example: Lawyer receives trust account check from opposing counsel; check bounces.
What grades can attend Journey Through Justice?
We welcome students in grades 4-12.
What happens in the event an attorney fails to comply with the Mandatory CLE program?
If an attorney remains in noncompliance, the Supreme Court of Georgia will be notified so that it may enter any order it deems appropriate including suspension from the practice of law until, as a minimum, the deficiency is corrected, all penalty fees are paid, and a reinstatement fee is paid. A $100 penalty fee is required if hours for the preceding year are not completed by the deficiency period ending March 31.
What if I need to cancel my Journey Through Justice?
If you are unable to keep your reserved date, you must notify us by reply email or phone within three business days of the date on which your "Looking Forward to Seeing You at Journey Through Justice!" email was sent, so that a school on the waiting list will have sufficient time to reserve their bus and complete any other field trip paperwork requirements. If you cancel after this three-business-day window, you will not be allowed to take a Journey Through Justice during the following school year. If you subsequently decide that you still want to come to Journey Through Justice in the current school year, and your previously reserved date (or an alternate date) is available, you may do so; however, this will not affect your placement on the following year's exclusion list.
We realize that sometimes you must cancel a Journey Through Justice with less than six weeks' notice due to circumstances beyond your control. Should that happen, we will be happy to discuss the situation with you before placing you on the exclusion list for the following year. Please note, however, that the following are among the circumstances which will not be considered beyond your control: failure to obtain or scheduled transportation; failure to obtain necessary approval from your school or district administration; testing dates; other school activities; poor behavior by your students; and lack of interest among your students.
What if I want to participate in Journey Through Justice but can't travel to the Bar's headquarters?
We do have alternatives available for public and private schools; please contact us at LRE@gabar.org or 404-526-8617 for details.
In addition, teachers, students and members of the public can access our Virtual Museum of Law at www.thelawmuseum.org. Visitors to the Virtual Museum will find informational animated videos about famous Georgia and U.S. trials, such as the Leo Frank case, as well as significant cases addressing civil rights, the importance of an independent judiciary, and cruel and unusual punishment. Students can take online quizzes to assess their understanding of individual cases, and teachers can access password-protected LiveBinders containing lesson plans, links to current events and other classroom resources. Instructions on how to view the LiveBinders can be found on each case's page.
What if my complaint is for negligence, malpractice or unethical conduct?
The State Bar has no program to handle cases involving negligence or malpractice claims. Litigation in the State or Federal Courts is the remedy in such cases. Complaints regarding unethical conduct may be filed with another division of the State Bar. Forms to register such complaints may be obtained by calling or writing the Consumer Assistance Program at the State Bar of Georgia. The Fee Arbitration Program is designed to handle disputes that are primarily fee oriented. If your case is really founded on malpractice or professional misconduct, the Committee has the discretion to terminate or suspend any fee arbitration, and except in unusual cases, that is what will occur.
What is Fee Arbitration?
The State Bar of Georgia, on behalf of the Georgia Supreme Court, administers as a service to both the general public and lawyers of Georgia the Fee Arbitration program. The actual arbitration is a hearing conducted by one or more persons not involved in the dispute. In most cases, two experienced attorneys and one non-lawyer public member serve as the arbitrators. Like judges, they hear the arguments on both sides and decide the outcome of the dispute. Arbitration is impartial and usually less expensive than going to court. The purpose of the program is to provide a convenient mechanism for the resolution of disputes between lawyers and clients over fees.
What is SOLACE?
SOLACE is a network of individuals within the legal community who are willing to consider assisting others in need because of a sudden catastrophic event such as illness, injury, fire or natural disaster. It is administered through the State Bar of Georgia. Ken Shigley, a past president of the State Bar of Georgia and chair of the SOLACE Committee, coordinates requests and responses. Other coordinators may be designated in the future.
What is considered an "inquiry" for purposes of the JDPP?
Inquiry means any inquiry or concern expressed about unprofessional conduct as outlined in the Bar Rules or Internal Operating Procedures for the JDPP, but does not include any disciplinary charge, ethics violation, criminal conduct, or any other matter which falls under the provisions of Part IV (Discipline) of the Bar Rules or the Code of Judicial Conduct. For purposes of the JDPP, the party making the inquiry or expressing the concern is called the inquiring party. The party about whom the inquiry or concern is expressed is called the responding party.
What is expected of you at the arbitration hearing?
Arbitration hearings are informal. You may be required to swear to tell the truth, but that is the only part of the arbitration that is like a court trial. Either party may elect to be represented by an attorney, but one is not required. Furthermore, the Fee Arbitration program was designed so that the clients can present their side of the dispute without incurring the expense of employing a second attorney to reduce the fee requested by the first attorney. However, it is your decision. If you feel that the amount in issue or other reasons warrant you having your own attorney present, you may be represented by the attorney of your choice. If you do elect to have an attorney present, the fee for your attorney is paid by you.
What is the Annual Report?
It is a transcript of CLE courses that is sent to all active, non-exempt members in January of each year showing all CLE hours taken for the previous year and indicating all fees owed.
What is the Judicial District Professionalism Program (JDPP)?
What is the Judicial District Professionalism Program (JDPP)? JDPP is an informal, private, and voluntary program developed by the Bench and Bar Committee of the State Bar to improve the profession and bolster public confidence in the judicial system. The goal of the JDPP is to promote professionalism through increased communication, education, and the informal use of local peer influence to open channels of communication on a voluntary basis. While no judge or lawyer is required to cooperate or counsel with the JDPP, the Program is intended as a source of support for all Georgia judges and lawyers in maintaining and enhancing the professionalism of the legal system.
What is the maximum number of students I can bring?
The maximum number of students we can accommodate on a single day is 70, although the ideal group size is 25-40 students.
What is the procedure for a JDPC inquiry?
Step 1: Concern or inquiry is reported to:
* State Bar Executive Director Jeff Davis, or any member of the Board of Governors or
* State Bar Consumer Assistance Program (CAP) intake staff lawyer; (404) 527-8759 or (800) 334-6865.
Step 2: Person receiving inquiry and information:
* Routes inquiry to CAP for preparation of JDPP Inquiry Data Form.
* May call the local JDPC Chair of the Judicial District where the responding judge/lawyer maintains his or her principal office.
Step 3: CAP intake staff will:
* Assign JDPP inquiry number.
* Gather Inquiry Data Form information. Note: In the interest of privacy, this form does not contain the name of any person about whom an inquiry or concern has been expressed (responding party).
* Place phone call to local JDPC Chair to provide name of responding party.
* Forward JDPP Inquiry Data Form to local JDPC Chair.
Step 4: Local JDPC Chair will:
* Refer inquiry to local sub-committee of JDPC for handling; or
* Call a meeting to discuss appropriate action based upon nature of inquiry.
Step 5: Local JDPC or sub-committee of JDPC will determine whether:
* Inquiry merits study or intervention.
* Judicial Advisor should be consulted, depending upon nature of the inquiry.
* Inquiry needs to be referred to Lawyer Assistance, Law Practice Management, or other State Bar program.
Step 6: If local JDPC determines further study or intervention is warranted, a meeting with the responding lawyer/judge will be scheduled, or sub-committee members and/or Judicial Advisors will be designated to handle.
Step 7: If local JDPC determines no further study or intervention is warranted, inquiry will not be pursued further.
Step 8: After resolution of inquiry, JDPP Inquiry Data Form will be completed showing how inquiry was handled and then returned to Consumer Assistance Program. This form does not contain the name of any person about whom an inquiry or concern has been expressed.
What is the structure of the JDPP?
The JDPP is the name of the overall program which is comprised of committees of Board of Governors members from each of Georgia's ten Judicial Districts. These committees are called Judicial District Professionalism Committees. Each Judicial District Professionalism Committee (JDPC) consists of the current members of the Board of Governors of the State Bar of Georgia from the particular Judicial District. The JDPC members for each of the Judicial Districts select one or more Judicial Advisors within each district. The longest serving member on the Board of Governors serves as the Chair for that District.
What is the yearly CLE requirement?
12 CLE hours including 1 ethics hour, 1 professionalism hour, 3 trial hours (only required for trial attorneys)
What kinds of issues does JDPP handle?
Inquiries from only lawyers or judges are referred to JDPP. JDPP committees may address the following patterns of conduct:
Unprofessional Judicial Conduct:
* Incivility, bias or conduct unbecoming a judge
* Lack of appropriate respect or deference
* Failure to adhere to Uniform Superior Court Rules
* Excessive delay
* Consistent lack of preparation
* Other conduct deemed professionally inappropriate by each JDPP with the advice of the Judicial Advisors
Unprofessional Lawyer Conduct:
* Lack of appropriate respect or deference
* Abusive discovery practices
* Incivility, bias or conduct unbecoming a lawyer
* Consistent lack of preparation
* Communication problems
* Deficient practice skills
* Other conduct deemed professionally inappropriate by each Judicial District Professionalism Committee
Inquiries or requests for assistance relating to conduct in pending litigation or ongoing transactional matters are generally better left to the judicial process or the negotiations of the parties. Consequently, any JDPP response to such requests should generally be delayed to the conclusion of the matter.
What mobile devices can I use to view your website?
The following touch-enabled mobile devices: iOS, Android, BlackBerry OS6+, and Kindle Fire.
What should my students wear to Journey Through Justice?
There is no official dress code, but our experience has been that students who "dress for court" generally seem to pay more attention and behave more appropriately.
What should the client do if his or her lawyer's bill seems too high?
First, review your original fee contract. Hopefully, it was a written contract, but even if not, the bill would be considered in light of the past agreement between you and your lawyer. If you had no agreement whatsoever, the law provides that the attorney is entitled to a reasonable fee taking into consideration all factors including those previously listed. If the bill still seems to be higher than your agreement or seems unreasonable, the next step is to say so. Sometimes a lot of hassle can be prevented if you and your lawyer talk things over. Ask your lawyer to explain why the bill is higher than you expected. You may find out the case was more complicated and took more time than you realized. Or the lawyer may agree that a mistake was made in the bill. But even if it does not work out, a good faith effort by the party requesting arbitration to resolve the dispute without the necessity of outside intervention is a prerequisite to Fee Arbitration.
Where can I file a complaint against my attorney or report a problem with my attorney?
The Consumer Assistance Program (CAP) of the State Bar of Georgia handles problems between attorneys and clients. CAP has many ways to help solve your problems. For general and statistical information about CAP, please see the CAP Web page. If you wish to speak to a CAP Administrator, please call 1-800-334-6865 and ask for the CAP line, or dial direct to 404-527-8759. CAP cannot receive inquiries by email.
Where can I find information about the Bar Exam?
The Office of Bar Admissions administers the Bar exam. Their website, which contains helpful links and contact information, can be accessed by clicking here: Office of Bar Admissions
Where can I find information regarding the application process to appear pro hac vice before the State Board of Workers' Compensation?
Out-of-state attorneys seeking admission pro hac vice to appear before the State Board of Workers' Compensation should review State Board of Workers' Compensation Rule 102(A)(3), which requires out-of-state attorneys to comply with Rule 4.4 of Uniform Superior Court Rules and its appendix. (There is no prescribed form for the motion.) In most circumstances, a per case per attorney fee of $200 is required. (The $200 fee can be paid by check or money order, made payable to the State Bar of Georgia). Where possible, applicants should include the name of the judge assigned to hear the motion/case and the case number of the action on the motion or in the body of the cover letter to the State Bar of Georgia. Applicants should inform the Office of the General Counsel of any upcoming hearing or trial date in the body of the cover letter. Applicants should file their notarized original motion with the Board of Workers' Compensation in the case in which they seek to appear (either to the judge or to the Settlement Division, as applicable) and send a copy of the motion to the Office of the General Counsel at: Office of the General Counsel, State Bar of Georgia, Attn: Kathy Jackson, 104 Marietta Street NW, Suite 100, Atlanta, GA 30303. For additional information please contact Kathy Jackson at 404-526-8603 or firstname.lastname@example.org.
Where can I find information regarding the application process to appear pro hac vice in Superior and State Courts in Georgia?
Domestic and foreign attorneys seeking admission pro hac vice to appear in Superior and State Courts of Georgia should review Rule 4.4 of Uniform Superior Court Rules and its appendix. This rule, amended in September 2011, requires pro hac applicants to send a copy of their motion to appear to the Office of the General Counsel of the State Bar of Georgia. (There is no prescribed form for the motion.) In most circumstances, a per case per attorney fee of $200 is required. (The $200 fee can be paid by check or money order, made payable to the State Bar of Georgia). Where possible, applicants should include the name of the judge assigned to hear the motion/case and the case number of the action on the motion or in the body of the cover letter to the State Bar of Georgia. Applicants should inform the Office of the General Counsel of any upcoming hearing or trial date in the body of the cover letter. Applicants should file their notarized original motion with the court in which they seek to appear, and send a copy of the motion to the Office of the General Counsel at: Office of the General Counsel, State Bar of Georgia, Attn: Kathy Jackson, 104 Marietta Street NW, Suite 100, Atlanta, GA 30303. For additional information please contact Kathy Jackson at 404-526-8603 or email@example.com.
Where can I get an attorney referral?
The State Bar of Georgia is a mandatory membership organization and cannot refer an attorney since we have an obligation to represent each of our members equally. Please see our list of Local/Voluntary Bars for full contact information of the Bar Associations near you. Many Local or Voluntary Bars offer Attorney Referral Services. For additional information on choosing an attorney, visit our online pamphlet "How to Choose a Lawyer."
Where do we park if we're traveling by bus?
Do not unload the bus in front of the building. Your bus driver should continue past our building to the traffic light at Fairlie Street. Turn right on Fairlie Street, and then take the first right-hand turn into the alley behind our building. Look on the right-hand side of the alley for the sign which says "Unloading/Loading Here for Journey Through Justice." Once the students have exited the bus, the bus should park on the right-hand side of the alley, between the base of the stairs and Loading Bay #3. The bus should remain there until the end of the tour, as we reload students there rather than on the street to avoid blocking traffic in the afternoon.
In the event of rain or other inclement weather, students should exit the bus into Loading Bay #3 itself, where we will be waiting, so that they can stay as dry as possible. The bus should follow the parking directions above.
Where do we park if we're traveling by car?
If you will be traveling by private cars instead of a bus, you should park in our parking deck, which is adjacent to our building and is located at the corner of Ted Turner Drive and Marietta Street; we will validate your parking, so please bring your parking ticket in with you. We can only validate parking for our garage, not for other parking garages in the area. Once you park, you should come to the sixth floor of the parking deck to the door marked "Entrance to Conference Center," which will put you on the third floor of the building. Please present your parking ticket for validation to the security guard at the desk immediately to your right when you enter the building.
Where is the State Bar of Georgia located?
We are at 104 Marietta St. NW, Atlanta, GA 30303.
Which members of the State Bar of Georgia are required to complete MCLE?
All active, non-exempt members who are not part of the Transition into Law Practice Program.
Who are the arbitrators?
There are normally three. Two are attorneys who must have a minimum of five years' experience practicing law. One is a non-lawyer public member. In cases with a disputed amount of $2,500 or less, one lawyer arbitrator may decide the case. They all serve voluntarily and without fee. These arbitrators, not the State Bar of Georgia, decide your case. The State Bar facilitates the Fee Arbitration process by coordination and administration of the program.
Who is exempt from MCLE?
a. members who are inactive (on their dues status with the Membership Department) for the entire calendar year b. out-of-state members who neither practice in Georgia nor represent Georgia clients c. out-of-state members who comply with the CLE requirements of their resident state ($75 fee required with this exemption.) d. members over age 70 e. judges who are prohibited from practicing law f. designated statewide elected officials g. attorneys who establish special circumstances constituting undue hardship
Who qualifies for assistance through SOLACE?
Any lawyer or judge and anyone who is employed by a law firm, a court, or the State Bar of Georgia, and their family members (wherever they may be located), are eligible for assistance through SOLACE. As we do not have the capacity to do all things for all people, the scope of the SOLACE program is limited to the categories listed.
Who receives SOLACE emails?
Initially, attorneys who are members of the State Bar of Georgia will receive SOLACE emails. Anyone within the legal community can be added at their request.
A list of frequently used forms may be found below. Please refer to specific individual FAQs for more information.
Are credits for satellite programs considered self-study/in-house hours?
No. As long as you attend the program at one of the official designated locations, you will be given regular live CLE credit for all live satellites, satellite rebroadcasts, video replays and video conferences.
At a minimum, the Mentoring Plan must include the following key elements:
Can I get credit for ICLE programs in other states?
ICLE can only guarantee credit in Georgia. To request credit in other states, please fill out the Uniform Certificate of Attendance form and submit it, along with the program agenda, to the bar of the state from which you are requesting credit. That state will then approve or deny the request as they see fit.
Does TILPP apply to a Beginning Lawyer employed by a government agency, in a public interest law setting, or as in-house counsel?
Yes. A lawyer who enters the practice of law as federal, state, local, or other governmental employee or in-house counsel may satisfy the requirements of TILPP by participating for twelve months in a TILPP approved new lawyer mentoring program specially designed for the office or agency under policies and procedures established by the Standards of the Profession Committee and the Commission on Continuing Lawyer Competency. If the office or agency does not have a TILPP approved specially designed program, the Beginning Lawyer will complete TILPP in Inside Mentoring using the Model Mentoring Plan.
During the 12-month mentoring period, does the Mentor initiate contacts with the Beginning Lawyer or should the Beginning Lawyer initiate contacts?
This is a matter to be addressed and established between the Mentor and the Beginning Lawyer at the outset of the mentoring relationship.
How can I determine the number of CLE hours offered by an ICLE program?
The CLE credit hours offered by each program are listed on the registration page. The hours are listed in the order below:
Total CLE Hours/Legal Ethics Hours/ Professionalism Hours/ Trial Practice Hours
Total CLE Hours –The total CLE credit hours that a program provides. The other 3 designations represent specialty credits and are not added to the Total CLE Hours.
Legal Ethics Hours – The number of legal ethics hours the program provides.
Professionalism Hours – The number of professionalism hours the program provides.
Trial Practice Hours – The number of trial practice hours the program provides.
How can I tell how much credit I will get for a specific seminar?
The credit hours for each program are listed on our website next to each seminar title as well as on the program's agenda. The breakdown is as follows:
total CLE hours/ethics hours/professionalism hours/trial practice hours
These are not to be added together. The first number signifies the total regular hours for the program. If you attend the program in full, this is how many CLE hours you will get. All hours are considered regular hours; however, of the total regular hours, some may also contribute to specialty credits as designated.
How do I comply with the mentoring component if I am in Group Mentoring?
Participate in 2 Group Mentoring seminars. Generally, each individual Group Mentoring activity lasts three (3) to four (4) hours, but program agendas are subject to change. Additionally, you are required to complete and submit the Mandatory Advocacy Experiences form.
How do I register for a program online?
First, log into your State Bar of Georgia account at www.gabar.org. If you do not remember your Username or Password, please contact the State Bar of Georgia’s Membership Department at:
If you are not a member of the State Bar of Georgia and you would like to register for an ICLE program, please contact ICLE at:
Once you are logged in, select ICLE Programs from the CLE dropdown menu located near the top of the webpage. All ICLE programs are listed here. Choose which program suits your educational needs and click the program tile.
You will then transition to the program landing page, which contains a “Register Now” button at the bottom. Click the “Register Now” button to transition to the program details page. Select the desired ticket option, and click “Register Now” at the bottom of the program details page.
You will then transition to a page that requests your registration details and payment. Once payment is complete, a receipt will be automatically sent to the email address you have on file with the State Bar of Georgia’s Membership Department. If you choose a webcast program, the webcast link will be included in the emailed receipt.
If you have logged into your State Bar of Georgia account and still have issues registering, please email ICLE at firstname.lastname@example.org. You can also complete the registration portion of the brochure located on the program landing page. Mail the form along with full payment to:
P.O. Box 117210
Atlanta, GA 30368-7210
ICLE cannot accept payment via email or fax.
How do Mentors sign up to attend or to view a Mentor Orientation Program?
All Mentors will receive an invitation from ICLE whenever a live/in person version of the event is scheduled. To arrange a webcast viewing of a previously recorded mentor orientation program, simply send your TILPP Mentor Appointment email to email@example.com. Please copy firstname.lastname@example.org on your email.
How does a Beginning Lawyer certify to the TILPP Director that they have completed TILPP satisfactorily?
TILPP consists of two (2) components: (1) Mentoring; and (2) CLE. Beginning Lawyers receive written confirmation from the TILPP Director upon successful completion of both components.
To Complete CLE: Complete twelve (12) CLE hours, inclusive of the mandatory Beginning Lawyers Program. Attendance is automatically reported to TILPP if you attend CLE seminars sponsored by TILPP and/or facilitated by ICLE. For CLE events facilitated by other CLE providers, Beginning Lawyers must ensure that the CLE provider forwards proof of attendance to the State Bar of Georgia CLE department.
Remember, all attorneys can check their CLE status online by logging onto the State Bar of Georgia website.
To Complete Inside or Outside Mentoring: Submit the Completed Mentoring Plan and Mentoring Completion Certificate (signed by your Mentor upon completion of your mentoring plan. The proposed Mentoring Plan, Mentor Volunteer Form, Compliance Checklist and Continuing Legal Education Agreement (if Outside Mentoring) should be submitted within 90 days of admission to practice.
To Complete Group Mentoring: Submit the completed MAE form (within 90 days of admission) and attend 2 Group Mentoring seminars.
How does a Beginning Lawyer enroll?
Beginning Lawyers enroll in TILPP upon admission to practice in Georgia. COMPLIANCE WITH TILPP IS MANDATORY. Once admitted to practice, the TILPP Enrollment form must be submitted with the membership application when registering with the State Bar of Georgia. When the TILPP Enrollment form is received and processed, Beginning Lawyers are given additional TILPP compliance information. However, prior to that time, information on the program can be found on the tilpp page of the website.
How is CLE credit reported, and what is the reporting timeline?
Please allow 15 business days post-program completion for ICLE to report Georgia CLE credits. Reported credits will reflect the program date or webcast purchase date as applicable. Due to the nature of the reporting process, we are unable to expedite this timeline.
Please contact ICLE if more than 15 business days have elapsed since you completed an ICLE program and the program is not reflected in your CLE Summary.
How is TILPP administered?
TILPP is operated under the auspices of the Commission on Continuing Lawyer Competency (“CCLC”) pursuant to its general supervisory authority to administer the continuing legal education rules.
The Standards of the Profession Committee is a committee of the CCLC with responsibilities for devising and recommending policy to the CCLC as to the operation of TILPP.
How is an Outside Mentor nominated?
A Beginning Lawyer is asked to nominate his or her own Outside Mentor. The Beginning Lawyer may direct a potential Outside Mentor to the 1-Page Executive Summary for Inside & Outside Mentor Volunteers.
The nomination must be approved by the TILPP Director (“Director”).
A Beginning Lawyer who, for whatever reason, is unable to identify an Outside Mentor notifies the Director within ninety (90) days of admission by submitting answers to the Solo Practice Email Questionnaire received after enrollment. The Director, working with the Standards of the Profession Committee (“Committee”), will draw upon their knowledge of potential Mentors in proximity to the Beginning Lawyer as well as seek assistance from local judges, voluntary bar associations, and the State Bar of Georgia Board of Governors.
In the event no Mentor can be found for a Beginning Lawyer to act on a one-on-one basis, then the Beginning Lawyer will complete TILPP in Group Mentoring (see below).
How is the Mentoring Plan monitored?
The Mentor and the Beginning Lawyer both have responsibility for evaluating the mentoring relationship, but the Mentor has sole responsibility for assessing whether the Beginning Lawyer has fully completed TILPP.
How long did it take to develop the “Transition Into Law Practice Program?”
10 years. See 10 Years In The Making.
How long does a Beginning Lawyer have to complete TILPP?
A beginning lawyer enrolls in TILPP upon admission to practice and has the remaining time in the year of admission and the following year to complete the program. State Bar Rule 8-104.
How long does it take for credit to be reported?
ICLE requires 10 business days for processing and reporting credit for our live programs. Satellite programs and video conferences require 14 business days. Reporting time for these seminars is contingent on how promptly attendance confirmations are mailed back from each location to which it is broadcast. We cannot report credit for any seminar until all attendance has been verified and the seminar has been reconciled. Unfortunately, due to the nature of our reporting process, there are no exceptions to our policy and we are unable to expedite the reporting of credit on an individual basis.
How many CLE hours do I receive for Group Mentoring activities?
You do not receive CLE hours for Group Mentoring activities, because your attendance at Group Mentoring seminars satisfy TILPP’s Mentoring component. You receive mentoring credit for your attendance.
How many other States have mandatory programs for newly admitted attorneys like Georgia’s Transition Into Law Practice Program?
As of 2019, there are 8 mandatory first year legal mentoring programs throughout the United States.
How much is the registration fee for Group Mentoring activities?
Fee information is provided in the brochure forwarded to you by ICLE of Georgia. This information can also be found on the registration page of the seminar on the State Bar of Georgia website.
How much time is a Mentor expected to spend with the Beginning Lawyer?
The Mentor and Beginning Lawyer are expected to spend a sufficient amount of time to fully carry out the Mentoring Plan mutually agreed upon. While regular meetings are suggested, TILPP does not specify the number or length of meetings.
How will TILPP deal with problems that arise in the mentoring relationship?
For concerns about Program requirements or procedures in general, a Mentor or Beginning Lawyer should convey such concerns to the TILPP Director, who will seek the assistance of the Standards Committee, if necessary, to resolve the issue.
Appeals from decisions of the Standards Committee will be made to the Commission on Continuing Lawyer Competency.
I am in Group Mentoring, but I have located an attorney willing to serve as an individual Mentor for me (either through an employment change or on my own). What do I do next?
Complete and submit the Migration Form, Compliance Checklist and Mentor Volunteer Form to the TILPP Director and provide your potential Mentor with information for Mentors located under TILPP Documents on the TILPP page of the State Bar of Georgia website.
I am not currently practicing law or only practice part-time – why am I required to participate in Group Mentoring activities of TILPP?
Because you have elected “ACTIVE” status with the State Bar of Georgia instead of “INACTIVE” status. Your compliance with TILPP is based upon your “ACTIVE” status, regardless of how much time, or how little time, you actually devote to the practice of law. (State Bar Rule 8-104(B)(1)).
TILPP is designed for Beginning Lawyers who are actually practicing law. If you are not currently practicing law, you should consider taking “INACTIVE” status.
Group Mentoring is geared toward those who are: 1) employed in a non-legal setting; 2) employed as a contractor; 3) working in a part-time legal position; 4) not paired with a mentor; 5) in solo practice; or 6) seeking employment.
I can't remember what email address I used to register in your system, or I no longer have access to that email account. Is it OK to just create a new account with a new email address?
Please do not create a new account. This can and will result in duplicate accounts for you and can interfere with accurate reporting of your attendance at seminars. If you have trouble accessing your account, please send an email to email@example.com (any time) or call 678-529-6688 (during normal business hours) and someone will be able to assist you.
I have questions about an ICLE seminar and registration. Who do I contact?
ICLE is a program of the State Bar of Georgia. Any questions about programming and registration for upcoming seminars should be directed to ICLE at firstname.lastname@example.org.
I have questions about the hours reported or general inquiries about my CLE status and yearly requirements.
ICLE will report your credits to the Commission on Continuing Lawyer Competency (CCLC) of the State Bar of Georgia for the programs ICLE sponsors; credit requests for programs attended out of state or for programs not sponsored by ICLE should be submitted to CCLC at the State Bar of Georgia. Questions about credit for programs not organized by ICLE (how much you will receive, why it hasn't been reported, etc.) will need to be directed to that program's sponsor. In addition, general inquiries about your CLE status and the yearly CLE requirements, including questions about hours needed, how hours are applied and/or why you are showing a deficiency should also be directed to the State Bar's CLE regulation department at 404-527-8710 or email@example.com.
I just watched a webcast. How do I report my credit?
ICLE reports credit for all our self-study programs to the State Bar of Georgia weekly. This is done automatically according to purchase date; there is no need for any action on your part.
Once imported into the State Bar's database, credit can take up to 24 hours to show up on your summary report. If you still do not see it and it is outside of this time frame, please contact the State Bar at 404-527-8710 or firstname.lastname@example.org with questions.
I took a course in 2018 (more than 14 business days ago) and it is still not showing on my CLE status report online. Why haven't these hours been reported?
It is likely that the hours for that program have actually been submitted to the State Bar. Unfortunately, courses attended in 2018 will not show up under the courses taken portion of the CLE Status Report on the State Bar's website until after the final 2017 deadline. Until March 31, that page will only show the names of courses taken in 2017; however, the hours from any courses taken to date are reflected in the summary at the bottom of the page. If you are still unsure if your hours are contributing, please contact the State Bar's CLE department at 404-527-8710 or email@example.com to confirm that they have received your hours.
I want a Mentor assigned one-on-one to assist me. How does a Beginning Lawyer get assigned one-on-one to a Mentor?
There are three ways to transfer or migrate out of Group Mentoring and have an individual Mentor:
NOTE: The Program Director only assists Beginning Lawyers who are sole practitioners in locating Outside Mentors and only within 90 days after admission to practice.
I was a Speaker at an ICLE program. Why have I not received my credit?
ICLE does not report credit for our speakers until we have received a completed speaker credit request form. If you have not already done so, please complete this form and return it to ICLE via email to firstname.lastname@example.org or fax to 678-529-6676. The form would have been included in the speaker "thank you packet" that was mailed to you after the program. If you have submitted one already, please ensure that it was filled out completely and resend if it has been longer than 10 business days.
ICLE Speakers and Members of Other Jurisdictions/Entities: How do I obtain Georgia CLE credit for an ICLE presentation and how is Georgia CLE credit reported to other jurisdictions/entities?
ICLE speakers must submit a completed Uniform Certificate of Attendance (UCA) within three business days of the program to receive Georgia CLE credit. Once ICLE receives the completed form, the earned CLE credit will be reported to the State Bar of Georgia CLE Regulation Department.
ICLE only reports CLE credits to the State Bar of Georgia CLE Regulation Department, and certain other entities as published on the program brochure.
To self-report to another entity, submit a completed UCA along with a copy of the program brochure to the entity from which you request CLE credit. Other entities reserve the right to approve or deny the request. As such, ICLE cannot guarantee that CLE credit will be granted for any entity other than the State Bar of Georgia. If you do not have the UCA form, you may request one from email@example.com.
Is any training required to serve as a Mentor?
No. However, TILPP offers an optional mentor orientation program. The program provides three credit hours and is offered live at the State Bar Building in Atlanta every even numbered year (i.e. 2020, 2022, 2024, etc.). and simulcast to State Bar satellite offices. In odd numbered years such as 2019, 2021, 2023 and so on, the program can be viewed by webcast. Each Mentor who takes the Mentor Orientation will receive three (3) hours of complimentary CLE credit. Mentors who have attended the mentor orientation program in one year are not required to repeat it if they serve as Mentors in subsequent years. However, we encourage mentors to take the seminar every couple of years to receive updated information.
What are sponsor fees and attorney fees?
All courses entered into our CLE database are charged a $4 per hour per attorney fee. Sponsors of the seminars are required to pay this fee for courses held in Georgia and for online/distance-learning courses. Attorneys are required to pay this fee for courses held outside of Georgia if the CLE provider does not pay this fee. An attorney can pay the $4 per hour fee to the State Bar of Georgia when attendance is reported to us, or can be billed on the Annual Report that is mailed in January of each year.
What are the Beginning Lawyer’s responsibilities?
What are the Mentor’s responsibilities?
The Mentor’s responsibilities include:
What are the law lesson topics?
We offer a variety of law lessons correlated to the Georgia Standards of Excellence; among the topics we can cover are torts, contracts, juvenile delinquency and unruliness, and business crimes. When you book a tour, you'll receive the full list of law lesson selections to choose from. The list of available law lessons can also be found on the State Bar of Georgia website HERE.
What are the minimum qualifications to serve as a Mentor?
Minimum Qualifications for Mentors are set out in State Bar Rule 8-104(B), Regulation (6). The qualifications of prospective Mentors are screened by the TILPP Director. The names of prospective Mentors satisfying minimum qualifications are forwarded to the Supreme Court of Georgia for consideration and approval.
What can I expect during a Journey Through Justice?
The students will first have a law lesson taught by an experienced attorney or teacher. At the end of the law lesson, the students are given a "bar exam," which may be either oral or written; of course, everyone passes and receives an Honorary Attorney for the Day certificate, personalized with their name.
The students break for lunch. During lunch, the students selected for speaking roles in the mock trial are given their scripts to review.
After lunch, the students go to our fully functioning courtroom, where they put on a scripted mock trial. Students who do not have speaking roles serve as jurors.
The students then tour our Museum of Law and watch a 12-minute film called "Reel Justice."
If your group cannot stay for the entire four-hour program, the Law-Related Education staff will decide which portion(s) of the tour to shorten or eliminate.
What does "self-study" mean?
Self-study is the term used for programs viewed online. Currently our livestream, webcast and select rebroadcast programs earn self-study credit.
What does “equivalent” mean as used in “Certify that he or she has professional liability insurance with minimum limits of $250,000.00/$500,000.00 or its equivalent”?
“Equivalent” refers to those Mentors covered as an employee under a policy related to their practice setting with a law firm or corporate entity. Also, it refers to those Mentors employed by government entities eligible for immunity status.
What happens if the Beginning Lawyer does not complete TILPP in the required time period?
The same deadlines, late fees and penalties for general CLE applies. See Rule 8-107.
What happens if the Beginning Lawyer needs to change to a different Mentor?
Administratively, TILPP refers to a change from one Mentor to another Mentor as a “Migration”. The Migration request is made in writing using the Migration Form.
Neither the Beginning Lawyer nor the Mentor is required to report the reason for a Migration request.
What happens if the Mentor becomes unavailable to serve?
The Mentor shall inform the TILPP Director as soon as practicable. In the event the Mentor is unable to do so, the Beginning Lawyer is required to immediately notify the TILPP Director of the situation.
In all situations, completion of a full year of mentoring is required. Decisions regarding how and whether to reconstitute a mentorship because of the inability of a Mentor to continue will be made by the TILPP Director. The decision will be made on a case-by-case basis taking into consideration individual circumstances and what has or has not been achieved during the original mentorship.
The Standards of the Profession Committee has the ultimate authority and responsibility for policies and procedures for situations where a mentorship ends prematurely.
What if I don't belong to a homeschool group, I can't come on the date my homeschool group has selected, or my group does not have the minimum 20 students?
We offer Homeschool Week during the first full week of January. The dates for the 2020 Homeschool Week are Jan. 6-8, 2020. Homeschool Week registrations will be based on your child’s grade level: 4th and 5th grade on Monday; middle and high school on Tuesday and Wednesday, with a maximum of 50 students per day. If your children cross these grade divisions, you may register older children on a younger day to avoid making multiple trips to the Bar; younger children may not register for older days. High school students are welcome to attend on January 6, 7 or 8; however, the law lessons and mock trials will be at elementary and middle school levels. As in past years, families must register individually for Homeschool Week; group registrations from homeschool community leaders are not accepted. To register for Homeschool Week, download the Homeschool Week Registration Form to your device HERE. Email your completed registration form to us at firstname.lastname@example.org. Registration for Homeschool Week opens Friday, July 19, 2019.
What if I have a date conflict with the Group Mentoring activities?
It is wise to file a conflict letter for TILPP seminars, so as to lessen the possibility of conflicts. However, if you find yourself with an unavoidable conflict attend a Group Mentoring event on an alternate date. Group Mentoring events are typically offered in March, May and August.
What is covered in the Museum of Law?
The Museum of Law contains walls on the civil rights movement, the need for an independent judiciary, the death penalty, and famous Georgia and U.S. cases. You may select one of these walls as the focus of your museum visit, or you may choose to have the LRE staff select the museum content to be covered. The list of available focus areas can be found HERE. Time permitting, the museum tour begins with a 12-minute film called "Reel Justice," a compilation of 75 clips from Hollywood movies dealing with the law and lawyers.
What is included in the mentor orientation CLE program?
The mentor orientation program presents an overview and background of TILPP. Additionally, the program provides information to aid mentors in developing an effective mentoring relationship with the Beginning Lawyer.
What is the Model Plan of Mentoring Activities and Experiences?
The intent of TILPP is to create a synergy between the CLE and mentoring component. To assist Mentors and to help insure some structure and uniformity, a Model Plan of Mentoring Activities and Experiences is provided.
This Model Plan features a list of experiences and topical questions that the Mentor and Beginning Lawyer can use as presented or customize with comparable substitutions that fit their particular needs and circumstances.
Should any substitutions be made to the Model Plan, the plan shall be submitted to TILPP’s Director for approval.
Although great flexibility in designing each particular plan is warranted, the plan should foster discussion and implementation of professional skills and values.
What is the goal of the Transition Into Law Practice Program (“TILPP”)?
The goal of TILPP is to provide professional guidance and counsel to assist Beginning Lawyers who are newly admitted to the State Bar of Georgia in acquiring the practical skills, judgment and professional values necessary to practice law in a highly competent manner.
What is the minimum number of students for a Journey Through Justice?
The minimum number of students required for a Journey Through Justice is 20. Groups which arrive with fewer than 20 students will be asked to leave and reschedule. You should not leave school with fewer than 20 students unless you have spoken to a member of the Law-Related Eudcation staff and have received permission for a smaller group.
What time does the tour begin and what time does it end?
Journey Through Justice is four hours long. We ask that students arrive by 9:30 a.m. and stay until approximately 2 p.m. (to allow for bathroom breaks and time spent moving from one room to the next). If you cannot stay for the full four hours, please let us know in advance of your tour date so that we may plan accordingly. Please keep in mind, however, that parts of the tour will have to be shortened or eliminated if you cannot stay for the full four hours. Groups which arrive after 10 a.m. without prior arrangement will be asked to leave and reschedule. For groups arriving by bus, the door will open at 9:15 a.m. Groups traveling by other means may enter the building before 9:15 a.m. but should not expect the Law-Related Education staff to be available before that time. Groups which arrive more than 15 minutes after their scheduled arrival time as stated in the “Are You Ready?” email (see FAQ #17 (6)) will be asked to leave and reschedule. We realize that traffic, accidents or other unanticipated delays may arise after your group is already en route; in that case, you must contact us by phone no later than your scheduled arrival time to request an exception to this policy. For groups arriving by bus, the door will open 10 minutes prior to their scheduled arrival time, which can be found as the first bullet point in the “Are You Ready?” email (see FAQ #17 (6)). Groups traveling by other means may enter the building before 9:20 a.m. but should not expect the Law-Related Education staff to be available before that time.
What type of CLE credit do simulcast and rebroadcast programs provide?
Attendees receive live (in-person) credit for physically attending simulcast programs or select rebroadcast programs, which are held at an officially designated location.
What will happen once I request my Journey Through Justice date(s)?
If you do not receive an Official Confirmation or Are You Ready? email, please check your junk or spam folders first before contacting us by email at LRE@gabar.org or telephone at 404-526-8617. You should ensure that the Bar has the name and cell number of a teacher who is physically on the bus with your students, so that we have an accurate point of contact the day of your tour.
When I register for programs online, it asks for my Shipping Address. Why do you need that if I am ordering an online seminar?
When registering for seminars online, you are asked to verify all of your information in our system so that we can keep accurate records for your account. This includes your shipping address. We do not mail any materials to you when you order an online seminar. All materials are provided as a PDF download.
When are the Group Mentoring activities?
Group Mentoring events generally occur in March, May and August, but future schedules are subject to change. Advance notices of Group Mentoring activities can be found on the TILPP and/or ICLE pages of the State Bar of Georgia website. Additional, reminders are forwarded to Beginning Lawyers by the ICLE department. You will receive reminders via email and/or first class mail to the address you have on file with the State Bar of Georgia. [You are required to keep current address information on file with the State Bar of Georgia (State Bar Rule 1-207)].
Where can Beginning Lawyers determine dates, times and locations of the required CLE programs?
Prosecutors, Solicitors: Contact your supervisor or the Prosecuting Attorneys Council of Georgia at 770.282.6300.
Public Defenders: Contact your supervisor or the Public Defender Standards Council at 404.795.2440.
Where should I direct questions regarding my CLE Summary or general inquiries regarding yearly CLE requirements and compliance status?
ICLE automatically reports Georgia CLE credit for ICLE sponsored programs to the State Bar of Georgia CLE Regulation Department. Any questions regarding CLE credit earned from attending an ICLE program should be directed to: email@example.com.
CLE requirements and compliance inquiries should be directed to the State Bar of Georgia CLE Regulation Department at:
Who should I contact with questions regarding ICLE programs and registration?
Any questions regarding ICLE programming or registration should be directed to firstname.lastname@example.org.
Why are Mentors required to have minimum levels of professional liability insurance or the equivalent?
Serving as a Mentor in TILPP is not an ordinary volunteer opportunity. It is a Supreme Court appointment. Therefore, it is appropriate to view minimum levels of professional liability insurance coverage as one factor in assessing whether a potential Mentor handles the business management of his law practice in a responsible manner.
Why do I have to pay for Group Mentoring Activities?
Group Mentoring is a part of TILPP. Both the mentoring and CLE components of TILPP satisfy the CLE requirement for Georgia’s Beginning Lawyers. All Lawyers subject to CLE requirements pay applicable fees for the production and logistical costs associated with programs. Further, Beginning Lawyers not in Group Mentoring still pay for their respective mentoring activities just as you do in Group Mentoring. Beginning Lawyers in Outside Mentoring and Inside Mentoring environments engage in mentoring activities during time periods when they would otherwise be generating income and/or billable hours.
Why does my receipt show that I watched this webcast on June 30? Will this affect when my credit is reported?
The June date is a generic date used only in ICLE's system for our self-study programs. The system requires us to input a "date of seminar" but because self-study courses do not actually have a scheduled date (since they are pre-recorded and can be viewed at any time), we use the June 30 to fill that blank. That date does not leave our system and in no way affects your CLE status with the State Bar. All self-study courses are reported to the State Bar as "attended" on the day they are purchased.
A temporary Bar Card can be obtained by logging into the website.
A temporary Bar Card can be printed by logging into your account and selecting Edit Personal Preferences from the menu options. You may also order a permanent Bar Card in this same area on the website.
Bar License Fee Notices normally are mailed in the Spring. When are they due?
The notices are always mailed in April or May and are due on July 1. A late fee of $75 is assessed on all payments after August 1.
Does the State Bar need a member's official mailing address on file? Can the address be marked private?
Bar Rule 1-207 requires that all members maintain a valid official address and phone number with the State Bar of Georgia. All address changes must be in writing by one of the following methods: (1) logging into the member's account at www.gabar.org and selecting "Edit Contact Information", (2) emailing the Membership Department at email@example.com or (3) mailing information to State Bar headquarters, attention Membership Department.
If a member does not want their contact information visible in the online directory, they may contact Membership at 404-527-8777 or email firstname.lastname@example.org and request their information be marked private. Their firm/employer name, street address, phone, fax and email addresses will be hidden from public view. To release the privacy restriction, the Membership Department must be contacted.
How can I be sworn in to practice in the higher courts?
You can contact the clerk of the court that you wish to practice in and they will arrange for you to be sworn in. You must first be admitted in Superior Court before you can be sworn in to the higher courts. Some of the telephone numbers for the higher courts are listed below:
Supreme Court - 404-656-3470
Court of Appeals - 404-656-3450
U.S Court of Appeals - 404-335-6100
U.S. Northern District - 404-215-1660
U.S. Middle District - 478-752-3497
U.S. Southern District - 912-650-4020
In order to be notified of any mass swearing in ceremonies for the higher courts, email the Young Lawyers Division of the State Bar of Georgia by clicking here.
How do I change my name?
CLICK HERE to download the Name Change Form. This is a fillable form, which may be completed online before you print it for a signature. Please fax or mail this form.
How do I change my status to active?
If you have not paid your license fee for the year, simply mark your license fee notice and pay the active fee amount. If you have already paid the inactive fee for the year, mail a check for the difference between inactive and active fees along with a note and your Bar Number to: State Bar of Georgia, PO Box 102054, Atlanta, GA 30368-2054. If you are unsure of the amount to send, email email@example.com and someone will be happy to assist you.
How do I change my status to inactive?
If you have already paid active dues, you may send an email to firstname.lastname@example.org and request that your status be changed. Be sure to include your Bar Number and the effective date. If you have not paid your dues, the change can be indicated on the dues notice and you may pay the inactive dues amount shown on the notice.
How do I login to the website?
State Bar members, if you have created a username and password, please use the one you created. Proceed by clicking here.
If you have not created an account, your username is your Bar number and your password is your last name with no punctuation or spaces and four digit birth year in all lowercase (i.e., username: 006400, password: smith1978).
How do I obtain a disciplinary history?
A disciplinary history may be needed by a member of the State Bar of Georgia for a variety of reasons, such as when a member applies for pro hac vice admission in another jurisdiction. There are two types of disciplinary history provided: (1) Public Disciplinary History, and (2) Complete Disciplinary History. A public disciplinary history includes the attorney's name, bar number and a history of any public disciplinary actions taken against the attorney. A complete disciplinary history includes the attorney's name, bar number and information about all grievances, cases and actions taken against the attorney, whether public or private. Please determine which type of disciplinary history you require before ordering.
Please Note for Complete Disciplinary History Requests: Pursuant to Bar Rule 4-224 of the State Bar of Georgia, all grievances which do not result in discipline against the respondent are expunged from our records after a period of either one or two years.
A disciplinary history is provided as a letter from the Office of the General Counsel for $15 per letter. Requests will be processed and mailed within 10 business days.
To order and pay for your disciplinary history online, please login by clicking here and proceed to the Store.
To pay by check, please click here to download an order form. Send the completed form and payment to the Office of the General Counsel, State Bar of Georgia, 104 Marietta St., Suite 100, Atlanta, GA 30303, Attn: Karen Cooper. The check should be made payable to State Bar of Georgia.
Please contact email@example.com if you have any questions.
How do I order a Letter of Good Standing?
Letters of Good Standing include the attorney's name, Bar Number, address and current status. If the jurisdiction you are applying to requires information about disciplinary history, please see the last paragraph below for instructions.
Some jurisdictions require that the letter come from the highest court in the state. In Georgia, the highest court that you are required to be admitted in, in order to practice, is the Superior Court. However, you may have been separately sworn in to the Supreme Court of Georgia and/or the Court of Appeals of Georgia.
The State Bar of Georgia is an official arm of the Supreme Court, but if the jurisdiction in which you are applying requires you to submit a letter from the highest court to which you are admitted (i.e., Supreme Court of Georgia, Court of Appeals of Georgia, etc.), you must contact those courts directly, (but only if you are admitted to them) to request a letter of good standing. Otherwise, if you have only been admitted in Superior Court, a letter of good standing from the State Bar of Georgia will be sufficient.
Letters are available from the Membership Department at a cost of $15 for the first letter and $5 for each additional letter requested at the same time. Requests for Letters of Good Standing will be processed and mailed out each business day. Cutoff time for receipt of orders is 12 p.m. If your order indicates that you would like to pick up your letter, you will be notified by email or phone when the letter is ready. To order a letter after 12 p.m. for same day pick up, an additional charge of $20 will apply for expedited letters. To receive a Letter of Good Standing your Membership Dues must be current.
To order your letter of good standing please login by clicking here and proceed to the storefront, or your may click here to download the request form and mail it in.
Any member seeking a letter that includes information about disciplinary history, please refer to FAQ 10 above.
How do I obtain information about Admission on Motion (Reciprocity)?
Under some circumstances, Georgia offers admission on motion without examination to lawyers who are licensed in another jurisdiction. Out-of-state lawyers who wish to apply for admission on motion without examination to the State Bar of Georgia should visit the website of Georgia's Office of Bar Admissions: www.gabaradmissions.org. Each jurisdiction may have different eligibility requirements. Please contact the Office of Bar Admissions at 404-656-3490 for more detailed information.
How do I order a Membership Certificate that is suitable for framing?
Any active member in good standing with the State Bar of Georgia is eligible to order a personalized membership certificate. Printed on ivory parchment paper, these certificates are stamped with the official seal of the State Bar and signed by the current president. Unframed certificates are $20.
Framed membership certificates are double-matted in black and gold and enclosed in a gold wood frame. Complete with a hook for easy hanging, they are available for $95.
To order your certificate, please login by clicking here and proceed to the storefront.
How do I order a Photo ID?
A photo ID card is a convenient and quick way to identify you as a State Bar of Georgia member.
To order your photo ID, please login by clicking here and proceed to the storefront.
Once you make your purchase, you will need to email firstname.lastname@example.org and attach a high-resolution picture. Be sure to include your Bar Number. The State Bar of Georgia reserves the right to decide if the photo you provide is appropriate for use on your State Bar of Georgia photo ID.
If you would prefer to pay by check, mail $16 to Membership, State Bar of Georgia, Suite 100, 104 Marietta Street, Atlanta GA 30303. Be sure to include your Bar Number with the request.
(If you don't have the ability to send a photo electronically, you may mail those to Membership as well. Be sure to include your Bar Number on all requests.)
I am a member of the State Bar of Georgia and my information in the online directory is incorrect. Who must I contact to fix it?
The Online Directory is a direct reflection of the State Bar of Georgia's membership database. To change this information, you can change your address online by clicking here, write an email to email@example.com or send a fax to the Membership Department at 404-527-8747.
I am not employed yet, should I wait to be sworn in?
You have one year from the date you received your certificate of eligibility from Bar Admissions to be sworn in. If you do get sworn in, you have 60 days from the date you were sworn in to apply for admission to the State Bar of Georgia. The fiscal year for the State Bar of Georgia is July 1 through June 30. Membership license fees are prorated by month for the first year you are a member.
I have a hardship right now and cannot pay my license fee. Is there a hardship exemption I can apply for or can I make payments?
Dues must be paid in full by the 9/1 date or you will be ineligible to practice. If you are not practicing, you can pay the inactive fee and later in the year convert to active.
I have just been notified that I passed the Bar Exam. What do I do now in order to practice?
All of the materials necessary to enroll with the State Bar of Georgia are available on the website and can be accessed by clicking here.
I have to appear in court but my license fee is unpaid, can I still appear in court?
After 9/1 of each Bar year, unpaid members members are ineligible to practice law until their license fees are paid.
I wish to check my membership status, or check the membership status of an attorney. Who should I speak to?
The State Bar of Georgia's Membership Department maintains and updates each bar member's status. For information about your membership status, or to make sure an attorney is in good standing, please check our online membership directory which is updated daily. If you still have questions call the Membership Department at 404-527-8777 or e-mail firstname.lastname@example.org.
If I am inactive and wish to take CLE hours anyway are there any restrictions?
Up to two years of CLE hours (24 credit hours) taken while inactive can be carried over and applied when you reactivate.
If I go inactive, how difficult is it for me to become active again?
You would simply need to send a check for the difference in active and inactive dues for that year. Be sure to include your Bar Number and a note that you would like to become active. The check should be sent to:
State Bar of Georgia
P.O. Box 102054
Atlanta, GA 30368-2054
If I have already paid the active license fee for the year, would a portion of my fee be refunded if I become inactive?
Due to the complexities and time involved with refunds for status changes, we do not refund any portion of the active license fee.
If I have decided I do not want to keep my membership, how do I resign? If I decide to reinstate after I have resigned, can I do that?
Bar Rule 1-208 states that members who would like to resign their membership need to petition the Executive Committee for leave to resign from the State Bar of Georgia. Members who desire to resign their membership need to fill out the Official Petition for Resignation and send the notarized form to the address on the form. Members may resign while in good standing with the State Bar. Members may also resign while delinquent or suspended for failure to pay license fees, or for failure to comply with CLE requirements. The process to be reinstated after resignation is similar to the process for non-payment of license fees. After the five-year period, you will be required to retake the Bar Exam to be readmitted. Click here for Official Petition for Resignation. Click here for full text of Rule 1-208.
If I have not practiced in Georgia for a long period of time and have not changed my status to inactive, can I make my status inactive retro active back in time?
You can make your status effective back to the date you stopped practicing by indicating the date and the fact that you have not practiced in Georgia on your correspondence to us.
If I live out of state and do not practice in Georgia, am I required to go inactive?
You are not required to change to inactive status. In order to eliminate the CLE requirement if you are not practicing in Georgia and live out of state, you may file an out of state exemption. Please contact CLE at 404-527-8710 for additional information about CLE.
Now that I have passed the Bar, where can I get sworn in?
Any Superior Court Judge in the State can swear you in. You can make an appointment by contacting the clerk of the court in the county that you choose. A directory of Superior Court Clerks can be found at www.gsccca.org/clerks. If you reside out of state and wish to be sworn in by proxy, contact the Fulton County Superior Court Clerk’s office at 404-613-4217 or email email@example.com for additional information. They will require a copy of your original certificate of eligibility and a copy of a state issued ID.
What are the benefits of being inactive?
As an inactive member, you are not required to complete CLE hours and your license fee is lower. However, inactive status requires that you do not practice law in Georgia. A possible disadvantage is the fact that if you plan to use your Georgia license to be admitted by reciprocity to another jurisdiction, the other jurisdiction often requires that you have been active 5 of the last 7 years.
What happens if I do not pay my Bar License Fee
A late fee of $75 is assessed after 8/1 and you are ineligible to practice after 9/1. Another late fee of $100 is assessed after 1/1 (Total Late Fee $175). After the second year of unpaid status, your membership status is changed to administratively suspended. Your membership will remain as administratively suspended for a five year period starting after the first year that you did not pay your annual license fee. During this five year period, you may reinstate by being recertified thru the Fitness process with Bar Admissions, completing several administrative requirements and paying additional penalty fees, license fees and late fees. After the five-year period, you will be required to retake the Bar Exam to be readmitted.
Where can I find information about admission to the State Bar of Georgia?
The Office of Bar Admissions is the administrative arm of the Supreme Court of Georgia responsible for the admission of attorneys to the practice of law in Georgia. This office has a website separate from the State Bar of Georgia's which can be accessed by clicking here: Office of Bar Admissions
While on inactive status, would I have to take CLE hours? Are there other requirements to maintain inactive status besides paying inactive dues?
You are not required to take CLE hours while you are inactive. There are no other requirements to maintain your inactive status. You may remain inactive for an unlimited amount of time. While you are inactive it is very important to keep your address updated with the Bar and pay your license fee. You may change your address by clicking here.
Would I have to take CLE hours to regain my active status from inactive?
You will owe CLE for the year you activate in as well as any hours that you owed CLE from prior years when you deactivated. These hours would need to be completed by March of the following year.
You will owe CLE for the current year even if you are only active for one day, week, etc. during the year. Be sure to consider this when you are activating at the end of a year.
Can I make online payments?
The State Bar of Georgia only accepts checks or money orders for pro hac vice application fees. The check or money order should be made payable to the State Bar Georgia and submitted directly to the State Bar Georgia with a copy of the application.
You can pay the annual fee (and late fee, if applicable) via credit card between December and March 1. The credit card payment is only for the annual fee (and late fee, if applicable). No other pro hac vice fees will be accepted online. Every December, the applicant (and sponsor) will receive the necessary information regarding how to pay the annual fee (and late fee, if applicable) via credit card.
When will I be admitted into the case?
You are admitted into the case when the judge enters an order granting your admission.
Does my sponsor have to reside in Georgia?
The rule does not require the sponsoring attorney to reside in Georgia.
Which rule should I follow for pro hac vice admission?
If you are seeking pro hac vice admission in a State or Superior Court of Georgia, please review Uniform Superior Court Rule 4.4.
If you are seeking pro hac vice admission in a Magistrate Court of Georgia, please review Uniform Magistrate Court Rule 7.5.
If you are seeking pro hac vice admission in the Georgia State Board of Workers' Compensation, please review State Board of Workers' Compensation Rule 102 (A)(3) and Uniform Superior Court Rule 4.4 here.
Please note: The State Bar of Georgia only reviews pro hac vice admissions for Magistrate, State, Superior Courts and the Georgia Board of Workers' Compensation.
If you are seeking pro hac vice admission in a Probate Court of Georgia please review Uniform Probate Court Rule 3.3.3.
If you are seeking pro hac vice admission in the Court of Appeals of Georgia please review Rule 9(c) of the Court of Appeals of Georgia.
If you are seeking pro hac vice admission in the Supreme Court of Georgia please review Rule 4 (h) of the Supreme Court of Georgia.
Does pro hac vice admission transfer from the lower courts to the appellate courts?
No, your admission does not transfer from one court to the next court. You must file a separate pro hac vice application in each court.
Does the State Bar of Georgia have a sample pro hac vice application?
Yes, you can use the verified application for pro hac vice admission form which will generate a pleading for you. However, we do not have a copy to provide.
Does the State Bar of Georgia keep a list of sponsors?
No, the State Bar of Georgia does not keep a list of sponsors for pro hac vice applicants.
Does the State Bar of Georgia provide pro hac vice applicants with a bar number?
No, pro hac vice applicants do not receive a bar number.
I am having difficulty finding a sponsor; can the State Bar of Georgia waive the sponsorship requirement?
No, the State Bar of Georgia cannot waive the sponsorship requirement. However, the court has the authority to waive any part of the Rule.
I was granted admission in December and the case continued into the following year, will I have to pay the $200 annual fee in January?
Yes, you will have to pay the annual fee.
Is a certificate of good standing required?
No, the rule does not require a certificate of good standing.
Should I notify the State Bar of Georgia that the case is closed?
Yes. You can email Kathy Jackson at firstname.lastname@example.org. Please provide the full name of the applicant, the applicant’s email address, case number(s), caption of the case(s) and status of the case(s).
Should I notify the State Bar of Georgia if there are any changes to the applicant or sponsor’s contact information?
Yes. You can email Kathy Jackson at email@example.com. Please provide the full name of the applicant, case number(s), caption of the case(s) and any changes to the applicant or sponsor's contact information.
Should I wait for an order granting admission before I serve the State Bar of Georgia with a copy of the application?
No, do not wait to serve the State Bar of Georgia with a copy of the application. Your sponsor can simultaneously file the application and serve the State Bar of Georgia with a copy.
The Complaint has not been filed yet. Can I serve the State Bar of Georgia with a copy of the application?
No, there needs to be a case number in order for the State Bar of Georgia to process the application.
What is the fee for pro hac vice?
There is an annual fee of $200 and an application fee of $75.
For the first pro hac vice filed in a calendar year, submit a total of $275 (annual and application fees), unless you already paid the annual fee for a previous application. For any additional pro hac vice filed in the same calendar year, submit $75 (application fee). These payments must be made by check or money order only and submitted along with the application.
Further, for every subsequent year that you remain admitted in any case in Georgia you must submit the annual fee of $200 by Jan. 15. This payment can be made via credit card. Failure to pay the annual fee by Jan. 15 will result in a late fee of $100. The annual fee and late fee must be paid no later than March 1 of that year. Failure to pay the annual fee and late fee may result in disciplinary action and the attorney may be subject to prosecution under the unauthorized practice of law statutes of this state. Please review Rule 5.5 (l) of the Georgia Rules of Professional Conduct.
What is the pro hac vice process?
Applicants are required to file the notarized original pro hac vice application with the court in which they seek to appear, and send a copy of the application along with the fee to the Office of the General Counsel of the State Bar of Georgia. Where possible, applicants should include the name of the judge assigned to hear the case and inform the Office of the General Counsel of any upcoming hearing or trail date in the body of the cover letter submitted with the copy of the verified application and fee.
Once the State Bar of Georgia reviews the copy of the pro hac vice application, a letter will go to the court informing it whether the application complies with the Rule. The applicant, sponsor and opposing party/counsel will receive a copy of the letter. Only the court has the authority to grant or deny your admission.
What information should I include when submitting the annual fee?
Please provide the full name of the applicant, the applicant’s email address, case number(s), caption of the case(s) and status of the case(s).
You can pay the annual fee (and late fee, if applicable) via credit card between December and March 1. The credit card payment is only for the annual fee (and late fee, if applicable). No other pro hac vice fees will be accepted online. Every December, the applicant (and sponsor) will receive the necessary information regarding how to pay the annual fee (and late fee, if applicable) via credit card.
If you do not wish to submit your annual fee (and late fee, if applicable) via credit card, you can pay by check or money order. Make the check or money order payable to the State Bar of Georgia.