Committees, Programs & Sections

Taxation Law

taxlaw 

The Taxation Law Section actively pursues the continuing education of the members of the State Bar in the field of federal and state taxation; maintains liaison with the Internal Revenue Service, the State Department of Revenue and the Georgia State University Tax Clinic; monitors state legislation affecting taxation; and makes recommendations concerning legislative and administrative rules.

Dues:
$20/yr
Section Year:  June to June (one year term)

Section Officers

Clark Russell Calhoun, chair
Alston & Bird LLP
One Atlantic Center
1201 West Peachtree St Suite 4200
Atlanta, GA 30309-3424
Phone: (404) 881-7553
Fax: (404) 253-8453
Email: clark.calhoun@alston.com

Vivian D. Hoard, chair-elect
Taylor English Duma LLP
1600 Parkwood Circle, Suite 400
Atlanta, GA 30339
Phone: (770) 434-6868
Fax: (770) 434-7376
Email: vhoard@taylorenglish.com

Peter George Stathopoulos, vice chair
Bennett Thrasher PC
3625 Cumberland Blvd., Suite 1000
Atlanta, GA 30339
Phone: (678) 218-1396
Fax: (770) 390-0394
Email: pstathopoulos@btcpa.net

Julian A. Fortuna, secretary
Taylor English Duma LLP
1600 Parkwood Circle, Suite 400
Atlanta, GA 30339
Phone: (678) 336-7191
Fax: (770) 434-7376
Email: jfortuna@taylorenglish.com

Mace Eugene Gunter, treasurer
Jones Day
1420 Peachtree Street, N.E., Suite 800
Atlanta, GA 30309-3053
Phone: (404) 521-3939
Fax: (404) 581-8330
Email: megunter@jonesday.com

John M. Allan, immediate past chair
Jones Day
1420 Peachtree Street, N.E., Suite 800
Atlanta, GA 30309-3053
Phone: (404) 581-8720
Email: jmallan@jonesday.com

Section Information

Section Committees
IRS/Practitioner Liaison Committee Minutes
Submission of Tax Court Act of 2008
Georgia Tax Court Task Force
2008 NASBTS Conference
2011 NASBTS Conference
Taxation Law Minutes 
Southeast Regional Bar Liaison Meeting Minutes
Tax Tribunal Judge Adopts Rules of the Georgia Tax Tribunal
Standing Remand Order for the Tax Tribunal
Revised IRS Organization Charts

Section Bylaws

Section Meetings

Membership Roster