Committees, Programs & Sections

Eminent Domain

The Eminent Domain Section serves to promote education relating to the law of eminent domain in the State of Georgia within the Section, the legal community and the public.The Section encourages cooperation and professionalism among eminent domain practitioners.The Section published periodic newsletters for members and offers annual continuing education seminars specific to Georgia eminent domain law for lawyers, governmental representatives, property owners and appraisers from around the state. The Section also monitors legislation during the General Assembly term for any changes or amendments impacting the practice of eminent domain in Georgia. 

At the annual seminar, the Section bestows the Charles N. Pursley Jr. Eminent Domain Section Award, upon a practitioner in recognition of his or her outstanding contributions in the field of eminent domain and furtherance of the constitutional principles of just and adequate compensation. Past recipients include Richard N. Hubert, Ken Stula, George Dillard, Justice George H. Carley, Justice Norman S. Fletcher, Beryl H. Weiner, Albert B. Wallace, Thurman E. (Ted) Duncan, Anne W. Sapp and William Stripling.  Section members are encouraged to submit nominations to the Section chair.

Dues: $35/yr
Section Year:  June to June (one year term)

Section Officers

Scott William Peters, chair
Schreeder Wheeler & Flint LLP
1100 Peachtree St. NE, Suite 800
Atlanta, GA 30303-1845
Phone: (404) 681-3450
Fax: (404) 681-1046

Andrea Cantrell Jones, chair-elect
The Galloway Law Group, LLC
3500 Lenox Road, N.E., Suite 760
Atlanta, GA 30326
Phone: (404) 965-3680
Fax: (404) 965-3670

Jason Phillip Wright, secretary/treasurer
Morris, Manning & Martin, LLP
1600 Atlanta Financial Center
3343 Peachtree Road, N.E.
Atlanta, GA 30326-1044
Phone: (404) 233-7000
Fax: (404) 365-9532

Christian Fowler Torgrimson, immediate past chair
Pursley Friese Torgrimson, LLP
Promenade II, Suite 1200
1230 Peachtree Street, N.E.
Atlanta, GA 30309
Phone: (404) 876-4880
Fax: (404) 876-4757

Section Newsletters

January 2008
Spring Summer 2007
Spring 2006
Winter 2006
Summer 2002

Section Meetings

Membership Roster