Bar Rules

Rule 1-507. Bar Facility Assessment

Organization of the State Bar & Admissions / Part I - Creation & Organization / CHAPTER 5 FINANCE / Rule 1-507. Bar Facility Assessment

  1. The State Bar is authorized to assess each member of the State Bar a fee of $200.00. This $200.00 fee may be paid in minimum annual installments of $50.00 for a period of four (4) years. This fee shall be used to purchase, maintain, and operate a facility for the State Bar offices and shall be in addition to the annual license fee as provided in Rule 1-501 through Rule 1-502 and the Clients' Security Fund Assessment as provided in Rule 1-506.
  2. For a member who joins the State Bar after taking the Georgia Bar Examination, the Bar Facility assessment shall be due and payable in $50.00 installments on July 1 of each year until the balance of $200.00 is paid. For members admitted to the State Bar prior to July 1, 1997, such installments shall begin on July 1, 1997. For newly admitted members of the State Bar, such installments shall begin when a new member is admitted to the State Bar. The failure of a member to pay the minimum annual installments shall subject the member to the same penalty provisions, including late fees and suspension of membership, as pertain to the failure to pay the annual license fee as set forth in Bar Rules 1-501 and 1-501.1.
  3. For a member who is admitted as a Foreign Law Consultant or joins the State Bar without taking the Georgia Bar Examination, and who has not previously paid the Bar Facility Assessment, the full assessment shall be due and payable prior to or upon registration with the State Bar.



GO TO Rule 1-506. Clients' Security Fund Assessment
Return to handbook browser.

© Copyright MMXIV State Bar of Georgia